The Future

For a long time I thought I knew what I wanted to do. 

What I wanted to study in college.Where I wanted to live. What I wanted to do after college. Over the last few years some of those things changed. I was never quite sure about what I was planning on being when I was younger. And like every little kid my mind skipped right over the fact that in order to do that I had to go to college and get a degree in that field. Since about the age of four I thought I wanted to be a vet. I have always had a love for animals and being able to help them seemed to be one of the best things I could do. As I got older I realized in order to help the animals they would have to be hurt or sick when they came in to see me. It would also mean I would have to be the one to put the animals to “sleep”. Those were ultimately the parts that drove me away from wanting to be a vet. I used to think I knew where I wanted to live when I was old enough to move out. I’ve always had a few places in mind. Los Angeles, New York, England, somewhere else in Europe, but as I grow older I’m not too sure I’d want to live in a busy city until my life’s end. That said I also don’t have any plans of moving to a rural area. I like the feeling of the place I live now. Not too busy, but not too quiet that I can’t even begin to think straight. After college I was thinking of spending some time to myself. Get my life settled. Have a stable job, date, and maybe even travel somewhere. After I am finished with all of that I wanted, and still want, to start a family. Starting a family has always been something I wanted to do. In due time of course. However, I’ve recently found out something that could change those plans. The other day my mom told me that there is a likely chance that I could have an illness that runs in my family. She told me that my grandma has it, she has it, and there it a very likely chance of me having it. What’s worse is I show all the symptoms, something my mom and grandma never did. I won’t explain it in detail. Just know that it is not terminal, but it could very easily change the plans I had for my future.

future

Leave a Reply

